Tillandsia ionantha hanging rack

air plant 20160422

I spent yesterday tying up my new Tillandsia purchases and hanging them up on a metal rack that I bought from Daiso. It was too late to take a photo last night so I took a photo this morning.

It looks nice, doesn’t it? Best of all, there’s plenty of space left for more plants.

I hung up the rack using two 3M hooks. Then I tie gardening wire to the plants to hang them up on the rack. Tillandsia are pretty light in general so I can use a thin 0.9 mm wire to hang them up. I tried tying the plants to the rack but in end decided to just hang them on it. This way it will be easy move them around later.

The problem with this arrangement is that I can’t put it under direct sunlight. The metal rack is not coated like the gardening wire so it will heat up under the sun. As Singapore sun can be quite scorching, it can cause the metal rack to be so hot that it burns the plant. This rack is currently in my bathroom which should be safe enough as it only gets bright, indirect light. Never direct sun.

Currently all the plants hanging on it are T. ionantha. All the six plants I bought yesterday are hanging on it. I’ve kept the seller’s tags for some of them as Tionanthas all look about the same. I will not be able to tell which is which without the tags. I also added one of the first air plants I’ve bought as it is getting a bit cramped on the window sill where I put it.

I think I might keep this rack for only T. ionantha plants. How cool would it be to see all types of T. ionantha in one place?

Leave a comment