A visit to Pick A Plant nursery

Paid a visit to Pick A Plant at their nursery. It was a long 3 hour journey to and back. I doubt I will go there any time soon, especially if I have no car.

I dropped off at the bus stop opposite Track 14 and walked all the way to the end. When I reached Song Orchids, I turned left and walked straight until I reached a group of smaller (and maybe private) nursery lots. Pick A Plant is one of them.

(Later the owner shared with me that there is a shorter way by following the drain from the main road to the nurseries.)

plant nursery b

I must have arrived just after a watering session. The shelves and plants are dripping wet. The increased humidity made me feel hot and sticky. It didn’t help that I was bitten almost ten times by mosquitoes.

Having recently learned about Tillandsia ionantha and its many varieties, I decided to buy only T. ionantha plants on this shopping trip. These are the plants I’ve bought:

  • T. ionantha vanhyningii
  • T. ionantha Ron
  • T. ionantha Fuego clump
  • T. ionantha v. fastigiata (used to be known as T. ionantha Peanut)
  • T. ionantha Mardi Gras

But there are still many more to add to the collection!

Leave a comment